April Hot Topics: April Fools’, World Autism Awareness Day, SCROOGLED, and Future Posts

(Trigger warning: Autism Speaks, autism “cures,” strong language, ableism)

Well, it’s been a long time, folks, since I have posted anything here on Autistic BigBro. I have to admit, though, that having a lot to say is really hard on someone like myself.

Ah, well. Here we go.

* * * * * * * * * *

It was actually fun writing this year’s April Fools’ Day post. I surmise that some people actually believed what I said that I’ll be quitting posting content that criticize the actions of some “advocates” in the autism community, and that I was sorry for doing so.

But as I said toward the end of said post, “Who am I kidding?” I’m not going to bend over backwards for some butt-hurt sod just because they were offended by the message I was sending across. Kind of like “shooting the messenger,” only that the messenger is also the origin of the message.

Either way, and as I always have maintained, I am not sorry for calling out the errors and suggesting ways to rectify those errors. I took the burden of being a vanguard for the rights and self-determination of autistic individuals, which are being compromised by the elitism and hypocrisy being furthered by scoundrels claiming to be “advocates.”

* * * * * * * * * *

And speaking of elitism and hypocrisy, this day marks a series of events which, until now, do not make any sense to me whatsoever. Yes, dear friends, I am talking about “World Autism ‘Awareness’ Day” and those events being held here in the Philippines and around the world.

I am still appalled that some people light things up blue, not knowing that they are actually being used by the bigots at Autism Speaks for free advertising. I happened to stumble upon a post on Facebook on this event in a mall where only a handful of people attended, and another where a “prayer rally” was being held.

Help me grasp what these people are doing, because seriously, what’s the point of holding these events? Will these events really promote the rights of autistic individuals and empower them to stand up for themselves, or are these being held just so some parents and professionals can continue inflating their organizations’ egos and their own?

And by the way, allow me to remind you that “World Autism ‘Awareness’ Day” is still being hijacked by the bigots and eugenicists at Autism Speaks. Just so you know.

* * * * * * * * * *

This part was not supposed to be part of this post, but now it is, no thanks to an article I stumbled upon. Click this link to read the article: http://www.cnbc.com/2014/11/06/can-google-find-the-cure-for-autism.html. Warning: Read the article at your own risk!

In case you didn’t click the link, it’s about the bigots and eugenicists at Autism Speaks conniving with Google hoping to find a “cure” for autism.

Everyone knows what my stand is on this matter. Again, what’s the point?

Besides, it could produce a chilling effect, setting a precedent for the elimination of autism, and therefore autistics, from the human genome and therefore the human race; worse, it could set a precedent for further eugenics against those with other disabilities. In this era where people claim their human rights and fight for those, it is quite ironic that there are still some people who think backwards and pursue unethical and illegal approaches in pursuing their “goals.”

In other words, we’re SCROOGLED.

I am so dumbfounded at this point. I will have to expound on this matter later. Oh, wait. I already just did.

* * * * * * * * * *

Upcoming posts will tackle on the following issues:

  • Pain in Giving
  • Bitterness and Resentment among Autistic People
  • Underestimating Autistic People’s Capabilities
  • Treat Us as Your Partners, not Your Projects
  • The Illusion of Inclusion
  • The Big Announcement

Do keep posted. Subscribe to Autistic BigBro, like the Facebook page, and comment!

3 thoughts on “April Hot Topics: April Fools’, World Autism Awareness Day, SCROOGLED, and Future Posts

  1. Autistic BigBro, your blog is currently included on our Actually Autistic Blogs List (anautismobserver.wordpress.com). Please click on the “How do you want your blog listed?” link at the top of that site to personalize your blog’s description.
    Thank you.
    Judy (An Autism Observer)

Leave a Reply

