Help.

Not for me, but for my people. My fellow Filipinos.

It has been days since Super Typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan) has struck the Philippines, and while my family has been fortunate that we all have managed to survive numerous disasters, other families in the Visayas region weren’t fortunate to even make it throughout.

I have been constantly hearing, reading, and watching news stories of the plight of my fellow countrymen in places such as Leyte, Cebu, Bohol (which had also been struck lately by a huge earthquake), and other places in the Visayas. I could see the havoc that Yolanda had wreaked onto these islands, and.

This morning, I woke up to a very saddening news from a fellow member of the Autism Society Philippines. The death of Lorenzo, one of my fellow awesomes in Ormoc, Leyte, during the wake of the storm, made me cry on my bed. And this midnight, upon seeing the plight of my fellow people, with them running out of basic necessities, others resorting to looting just to survive, bodies of the dead scattered everywhere, and the very limitations of providing aid, I could not help but shed tears and be fearful of our future. The future of my brothers, the future of my family, the future of my people.

You guys might have already known the extent of the damage on the news, on the Internet, and even through word of mouth. I hope those photos, accounts, and stories were more than enough for you to understand that we need help.

Set aside politics, disputes, and all that bickering for later. Right now, as a Filipino, an autistic self-advocate, and a BigBro, I am calling all my fellow self-advocates around the world and here who are still safe to please help my people. Your words can help, but so can your donations and aid in kind.

Please help us. Please help my country.

God bless everyone.

Autistic BigBro

Leave a Reply

