Mission Accomplished?

So World Autism Awareness Day is about to come to an end, and so is B-WEAR.

A Confession

I have to admit that sometimes, I am having a hard time accepting feedback right away, and it takes me some time to realize and digest the feedback I receive from concerned individuals. Even constructive ones.

I had a conversation early this week with some of my colleagues, and they have noted the tone I have been recently using in my posts concerning B-WEAR, what with the confrontational rhetoric. Normally, I prefer to use in-your-face approaches, but they wanted me to be diplomatic, they wanted me to speak positive things about autism and individuals on the spectrum, while asserting for our rights.

It came as a shock to me, since I felt that what they were asking of me conflicts with my existing set of values. But as I start to think over, I guess they were right. People have had enough of negativity and want to hear the bright side of autism from the perspective of another autistic individual. A perspective that inspires, a perspective that stands up for autistics, and a perspective that makes us shine.

So I’m reverting to my old tone… at least for now.

Building Bridges

Just this morning, when I was in the middle of snoozing and monitoring worldwide WAAD events, particularly in the United States,  I happened to stumble upon a diversity of advocates.

They yearn for the same thing I yearn: making rights real for people on the spectrum and other disabilities, and support from the government and charities that claim to support them.

I told them what Autism Society Philippines (the group I happen to associate myself with) has been doing in the local setting, and I can see some parallelisms with many autism groups in America (don’t get me started on Autism Speaks and how they harm the autistic community at large). What they were lacking is their rights, their support from the government and corporations, and unity.

One of them (whom I previously have had a Twitter conversation), whom I initially took for a supporter of Autism Speaks, conversed with me outside the social networks, and we share the same sentiments concerning the autism community, especially against Autism Speaks. Another isn’t a fan of them either, they admired my moniker, Autistic BigBro, and actually look up to me, since it is rare to them that someone like me acts as a big brother to fellow autistics. What they wanted is unity — a common voice for all autistic individuals, amid the plethora of factions within.

Just Because…

Just because WAAD is over, and I changed the motif of my blog and the tone of my posts, doesn’t mean I am standing down in the fight against discrimination, corruption, dishonesty, and false advocacy in the autism community.

I will continue to write inspiring stories, but will revert to confrontational rhetoric if I have to.

So, has B-WEAR been successful? Only time can tell.

The battle is about to end, but we’re all about to face a bigger war.

I am the Autistic BigBro — appreciates and loved by good, stands up to and feared by evil.

Leave a Reply

