The Fine Line

Since my nascence in the world of the Internet about ten years ago, I have made it as an outlet for my radical thoughts, most of them rants about my personal life, opinions on the real world, and anything that would come out of my mind.

Most of my web presence has been devoted to social networking since its inception. I have held numerous social-media accounts, and their role in connecting people has been of good use to me — for the record, I have had over a thousand “friends” online, which is inversely proportional to the handful of real friends I have in practice.

I have been noted online for my no-holds-barred posting style, and can range from mild to caustic. Though, most of the time, I have been spewing acid in my posts online. And no, not the illegal drug that is called “acid.” Either way, it has led me into conflict with some online users who either disagree with my opinion or have proclaimed themselves as “victims” of my opinions. While some of the conflicts have been plain healthy discussions, some are meltdown-inducing, what with below-the-belt punches and ad hominem attacks.

Since 2009, I have been involved in the online autism support and advocacy community, and the first online community that I joined was Wrong Planet. Initially, my stay had been good, and I gained some friends there. But as time passed, due to unfortunate and importunate circumstances, I’ve learned that not everything is what they seemed to be, and during that process, I gained some online enemies, and I left that online community disgruntled and disillusioned. I’ll tell more about it soon, though.

Then enter the real world. As I started my real-life self-advocacy, I still kept onto my online movement, and even aiding in the online part of the local autism awareness scene. While being nice in the autism advocacy, educating people about our causes, I was still being caustic outside, breathing fire over the incompetence and stupidity of some politicians and the political and social situation in the country.

And one day, I was called out on that. Some said I’ve been talking too much. Others said I’ve been crossing the line.

At that point, I didn’t know where the fine line is, and I believe that is a quality I share with my fellow autistics, both online and in real life. I happened to struggle with social cues, and I still do to this day. The deal is, the line drawn between what is considered “right” and what is otherwise is finely drawn, and sometimes can even change shape and form. And for me, it’s quite hard to make sure I don’t cross it.

What’s my point, really? My point is how to find the fine line, and whether that line is correctly drawn or not. And if I did cross the line, the challenge is this: What now?

Well, I guess I have more to learn on self-advocacy — as do many of us also need to do so.

Leave a Reply

